Support our Students

Help keep Sociology, Anthropology and Health Administration Policy students on the path to success

/ 150

On behalf of the students, faculty and staff of UMBC Sociology and Anthropology and the Health Administration Policy Program, thank you for all that you have done to make our department outstanding. Help us continue this tradition of grit and greatness by giving back to support the innovative work and service of our current students. You can choose to support:

Sociology and Anthropology Students

  • Lewis Memorial Scholarship: Created in honor of the Department's founding chair, David T. Lewis. Students are nominated based upon merit and are awarded the scholarship to assist them in completing their education. Four scholarships of $500 are awarded to two Anthropology and two Sociology students each fall.
  • Gill Memorial Textbook Scholarship: Created in honor of Derek Gill, chair of the Department of Sociology & Anthropology from 1986 – 1998. Each semester, the Department selects self-nominated students based on academic performance and need. Amount of the award is $200.

Health Administration and Policy Students

  • Barbara E. Burkman Health Administration and Policy Program Scholarship: Two annual $500 awards support academic tuition or to enable the recipient to participate in special programs such as the UMBC International Field Research (IFR) and other enriching experiences.
  • Health Administration and Policy Program Council of Majors Scholarship: Provides $250 awards to students to successfully complete their degree by helping to fund tuition or textbooks.

You can also always give toward the Sociology and Anthropology Department Fund, which supports our Eminent Scholars Lecture Series, fosters research, and funds our Outstanding Student Award to recognize academic achievement and service to the majors.

With gratitude and true grit,

J. Kevin Eckert

All contributions raised are administered by the UMBC Foundation for the benefit of UMBC.